Steal My Ride!

stolen car

Have you seen this car?

Today has been a day of ups and downs…

Down: J’s dentist appointment at 8am this morning.

Up: We managed to successfully have his teeth cleaned and fluoride applied without him biting, kicking or hitting anyone!

Down: Our car was stolen while we were in the dentist’s, and they have our house keys as well. Apparently wrestling an unwilling, tantrum-throwing 4 year-old into a dentist’s office caused the keys to fall out of my pocket. My shallow, silly pocket, where I should know better than to put my keys.

Up: The officer was quick to arrive to file the report, we had a warm place to wait with toys, and the receptionist even put Finding Nemo on the waiting room TV for J.

Down: Two very nice car seats and a travel stroller were in the car.

Up: My mom had P for the morning and we live 1.5 miles from the dentist, so J and I had a nice (cold) walk home and talked the whole way (bonus quality time!).

Down: Jason had to leave work to change the deadbolts (such protective instincts on that one).

Up: We got to hug Jason in the middle of the morning!

Down: We’ve seriously inconvenienced the people who own the title for the car.

Up: We weren’t in the car. We have a second car. Car seats and strollers are replaceable.

Down: The kid’s favorite music cds were in the car.

Up: Opened the garage to find two car seats AND the travel stroller. We have spare car seats since we have two cars, and Jason had removed the travel stroller from the trunk a couple of weeks ago and I kept forgetting to put it back.

Up: J, P, and I walked to his our parent teacher conference this afternoon, and she gave me a GLOWING report.

Up: J thought that maybe the person who stole the car needed the carseats or the car and that we should give them that one since we have two or buy them one of their own. Such a generous heart.

Up: I just realized, amid my spanikopita/chai tea/dark chocolate therapy, that the gas tank was on EMPTY and the registration sticker had EXPIRED. This makes me smile.

So far, this whole thing has cost us $66.78, the cost of four new deadbolts. This is a temporary fix, as we’ll keep trying to find a re-key set for our existing locks. Unless they don’t accept returns on opened locks, of course. We don’t need to replace the stroller, and we can hold off on the car seats for a while.

Man, that emergency fund keeps taking hits lately!

**********

Have you ever had a car stolen?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Priceless, Katie! We really are so very much alike.

  2. Posted by Jenee on October 9, 2012 at 1:17 am

    That is a really good point. It will probably be found rather quickly that way. I hope it comes back quick!

  3. Posted by Katie on October 9, 2012 at 1:03 am

    What a generous boy you have!
    Take it as a compliment that your car is awesome or you need to be more of a slob (like me).This summer I left the van on Penn ave with the doors unlocked, keys in the ignition, RUNNING! For 3 hours and it was still there when I got back. I also once had my keys stolen at gunpoint and dude took one look at my car and decided to walk. Sorry about your rotation luck

  4. I don’t know if I mentioned it in the article, but the temp registration/print out from the internet is actually in the glove box, but I’m really glad the registration sticker wasn’t updated. Both officers I talked to said that would definitely help locate the car, since parking authority folks would report that, whereas they don’t run license plates to see if they are stolen when they leave a ticket!

  5. Posted by Jenee on October 8, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    ok so first off that SUCKS! But the comment about the empty tank and expired registration is HILARIOUS! Amy’s friend’s car got stolen a in July and the police never called them when they found the car. After a few weeks she called and they aid “oh yeah, we found it a week ago and it was a mess.” So stay on the cops!

Leave a Reply

