Foodie Friday: Cooking Once A Week

Crockpot on low

This week we had one doctor’s appointment each day, several volunteer obligations, and some friends to see as well. The week culminates today in us leaving the kids with Jason’s aunt & uncle so that we can have our first weekend away (that doesn’t involve a general anesthesia) since having them. Woohoo!

(You know we’re probably going to play Scrabble and be asleep by 10pm, right?)

We’re attending the Mother Earth News Conference, which I’m pretty excited about. They offer tons of sessions about everything from solar panel installation to my favorite, worm bins!

This means that I wanted to spend almost no time cooking this week, but still keep our foods up to my standards. So I cooked on Sunday.

Granted, much of our food for the week was already prepared in the deep freeze and unearthed in last Saturday’s freezer move. But here’s what I found in the freezer, and here’s what I cooked on Sunday:

Freezer Meals:

  • Blueberry Oatcakes
  • Pumpkin Prune Oatmeal
  • Organic Hot Dogs (part of our Aunt & Uncle’s freezer clean-out a few weeks ago)
  • One-Pot Spaghetti
  • Joy’s Cincinnatti Lentil Chili
  • Rice
  • Broccoli Cheddar Soup
  • Mushroom Barley Soup

Cooked Today:

  • Carol’s Granola x2
  • Papa John’s Crockpot Roast Beef
  • Red Lentils (made to taste and be used like mashed potatoes–delicious!)
  • Braised Baby Bok Choy (we ate all of this at dinner & loved it)
  • Barbeque Chicken Crockpot Packet (I couldn’t find this recipe on the site, but I know it’s available in this e-book–that was offered free when I signed up emails)

So I had two crockpots going from early in the morning, and then while I was making the lentils and bok choy for dinner, I made and baked the granola. Dessert Sunday night was spoonfuls of hot granola–yum!

I am preparing for a bulk cooking morning with a friend next week by trying to eat up odds and ends in our freezer, which will hopefully make room for the new meals. The things I cooked or thawed today will cover us for most breakfasts and dinners this week!

***********

How do you prepare for a busy week?

Leave a Reply

