Foodie Friday: Two Farmer’s Markets, Spaghetti Squash, and a Pumpkin

Farmer's Market

Photo by Figmint77

It’s my intention to generally put a recipe in here, but I just don’t have one today. I think I stayed up too late talking to Jason on the phone about kitchen window options and bathroom vents with lights and heat optional.

So instead, I’ll tell you about our adventures today. I took the kids to an open-air farmer’s market. It was small, but mighty and covered by a large tent. There was a group giving away free children’s books and stickers, and I even saw a booth for face painting as we were leaving. There were only three or four farmers (yet lots of tempting baked goods!), but one had a sign up that his produce was chemical-free naturally grown, so that’s where we spent the bulk of our money.

We bought 6 cucumbers, 2 zucchini, 2 yellow squash, 2 spaghetti squash, 4 acorn squash and a pumpkin.

After we left that farmer’s market, we hopped over to another indoor market that’s actually a buyer and reseller of local food, hoping to find salad greens and kale. No luck. But we did find decent looking apples, so we bought about 10.

After lunch I cut the pumpkin in half, scooped out the seeds and fiber and placed the halves cut-side-down in two baking dishes and added about a quarter inch of water. Baked at 350 degrees, they took about 2.5 hours because this is the largest pie pumpkin I’ve ever seen. Once cool, I’ll scoop out the flesh and smash it a bit and then freeze it to use in recipes (like Pumpkin Oatmeal).

I’m debating on roasting the seeds–there aren’t many there.

I asked the farmer about the spaghetti squash and he told me how his wife prepares it. Simply cut the spaghetti squash in half, scoop out the seeds, and place in a baking dish cut side up. This is the genius part: his wife puts marinara on top of the squash at the beginning! And when you pull it out of the oven, there is a cooked spaghetti squash baked with sauce. A little parmesan on top and it’s complete. That sounds so easy!

Wait, that’s a recipe!

I’ll update this post with a photo of the finished squash once it comes out of the oven tonight.

**UPDATE: We ate it all, before I could even think to take a picture. Apparently, we were a wee bit hungry! The kids took a couple of bites and declared it yucky (but they both have texture issues, so whatev), but my mom and I ate 2 spaghetti squash by ourselves. We topped it with a little basil tomato feta and sharp cheddar cheese, because that’s what we had. It was delicious, and I will definitely be making this again soon.

Leave a Reply

