Exercise is Frugal

Running robot

I am definitely not a machine, but at least I try.

Yesterday I had a bad day. I won’t go into it, but these things happen to everyone. Often we turn to food, alcohol, complaining, shopping and other things to make ourselves feel better. I’ve done all of those.

Yesterday was different. The kids and I are at my mom’s house this week, so I asked her if she’d mind playing with them for an hour, changed, and went for a walk/run. I walked for about 5 minutes and then alternated running as long as I could with brisk walking. I probably covered a couple of miles in an hour, but that wasn’t the point.

I came back to the same day, but my outlook was far better. Not perfect, mind you, still kind of grumpy and short with my kids, but not nearly as cranky as I had been. I had some time alone, outside in the fresh air on a beautiful, sunny day. I’m in a very friendly town, so almost every single person I saw smiled and said hello, forcing me to smile back. Fake it ’til you make it!

Running saved me money because I didn’t go shopping or buy a bottle of wine or buy some treat “because I deserve it.”

And there was this feeling of accomplishment, that I was proud of myself for getting out and trying something different when I’m in a funk.

 

Leave a Reply

