Quick Review: Take the Fight Out of Food

This comes as no shock to those of you who know me well, but I worry about nutrition. I also worry about the chemicals used in producing our food and the healthiness of the animals who produce our meat, eggs and diary.

But the health of my children and husband–I probably give nothing else save laundry more thought. Sometimes I just want to burn that laundry pile! So I’m reading some parenting and nutrition books this month which serve as pretty valuable reminders, and often reinforce that I’m doing about as well as I can.

Take the Fight Out of Food by Donna Fish discussed the power struggles and food fights parents can have. As the parent of a 1.5 and 3.5 year old, I’m having many of the ones she outlines in her book. This was a quick read and had lots of pretty simple things to implement in order to get your kids to “eat for life,” by which she means eat healthily for life.

I found the parts about getting kids not to fixate on treats and sugar particularly helpful! In fact, we’re already implementing some of the strategies with J. In all, a solid book if your child is refusing to eat vegetables, fixating on sugary treats, or simply refusing to eat at all.

Leave a Reply

