Menu Plan

Yes, I make a weekly menu plan. Last month I participated in the Eating From the Pantry Challenge with Money Saving Mom and FishMama, and that went great with my meal plan. Just two days left me scrambling for something to feed the family.

I planned to re-stock last week and this week, but I got sick and snowmageddeon came to western PA, so I haven’t been able to leave the house since Friday except to play in the snow with J.

Here he is, playing in the snow. He mostly likes to hit the  snow and watch it fall on his boots. Whatever works!

Anyway, we are out of cheese, yogurt and a few other things,  and my mom is coming to town on Thursday if the next snow storm doesn’t mangle the roads. I sent Jason to work (a couple of blocks away at a coworkers house–everyone is on  orders not to come in to the office) today with a list and a few coupons, but I’m not optimistic that any  of the dairy will be  in stock. Apparently Giant Eagle is out of  all eggs, milk, and  bread. I may have to alter the meal plan to reflect what we don’t have available.

Without further ado, here’s the meal plan for the week…

Breakfasts:

Homemade waffles x2, fruit (will quadruple the batch and freeze what isn’t eaten)
Cheesy scrambled eggs & toast, fruit
Fried eggs, toast, fruit (can you tell I crave eggs??) x2
Breakfast Casserole x2
And probably more eggs for the breakfast that isn’t accounted for!

Lunch:

Grilled cheese, tomato soup, mixed veggies
Egg or salmon salad sandwiches, carrot & celery sticks
Homemade macaroni & cheese, baked sweet potato
Leftovers and more leftovers!

Dinner:

Steak salads x2 (J will have vegetable soup and cheese on these nights)
Homemade Pizza, mixed veggies (will make 2 so that we have lots of leftovers)
Spaghetti & meatballs w/homemade sauce, salad (my mom is planning to make all of this while she’s here!)
Burritos, corn chips & salsa, salad (will make extra burritos for Jason’s lunches)
Spinach & feta pasta, fresh bread, goat cheese & cranberry salad
Steak quesadillas, salad (will make extra here, too)
Dinner out

This week is a little odd because when we have house guests, I extend my meal plan to cover the time that they are visiting and then we eat leftovers for the next day or two after they leave. Since we have house guests at least once/month, this plan gives me some down time after they leave to catch up on cleaning or whatever without having to worry about food. So this meal plan actually covers 8 days since my mom will likely be here until next Tuesday.

This Saturday we’re having our friends over for dinner (they were supposed to come over this past Saturday, but snowmageddeon happened), and that is the night we’ll have the Spinach Feta Pasta. It’s incredibly easy and always gets rave reviews. Is it too much to have feta cheese on the pasta and goat cheese on the salad?? I’ll probably make some bread in the bread machine, or at least make the dough in the bread machine and make rolls in the oven. Unless I’m voted down in favor of Homemade Pizza. That happens sometimes!

Leave a Reply

