Dinner Planner

I confess, I am a horrible hostess. I have the best of intentions, but something always gets in the way of the finished product. This past weekend it was that I needed to sleep with the utmost urgency, so my lovely mother-in-law finished making dinner to take to some family members. While I drooled, my mother-in-law slaved over my stove. She’s an angel.

Tomorrow night, we’re having two of our closest friends over. While I don’t feel the need to go all out (which with me isn’t much!), I do want to have a nice dinner. They haven’t been over for dinner in a couple of months, they love Jack, our son, and we love them, so I want to make them something yummy. But we’re also trying to save every penny we can scrape up right now, and Pittsburgh is in the middle of Snowmageddeon (I wish I could take credit for that term, but alas, credit goes to Sean S.). Those being factors, I’m going to try to have a nice dinner for 4.5 using only what’s on hand. The current menu is:

Marinated London Broil

Rice pilaf (would rather have potatoes, but the cupboard is bare)

Additional side?

Green salad with goat cheese, cranberries and white vinegar dressing

Homemade rolls or bread of some type

Oatmeal Raisin and Butterscotch Walnut cookies for dessert (homemade and already have on hand)

These friends want to bring something, so maybe I’ll see if they want to bring a beverage. Or perhaps a side dish, if I can’t find anything in the freezer(s). I still need to inspect the downstairs freezer–this is the menu based on the inventory list I keep, which isn’t always the most up-to-date!

Leave a Reply

